The Risk You Take When Starting A Blog

I have a newfound respect for those that start their own blogs and share their stories..I’ve only had this blog now for maybe..what, a week? 2 weeks? Yet every day, sometimes every hour, I get back on and search desperately, hoping I’ll get my first comment..and it never happens..Then I begin to doubt myself..I start to worry that what I’m writing isn’t good enough, even though this IS the very first Sims story I have EVER shared besides a brief description of my sci-fi epic novel  Sinister Spell:Realms Entwined(still working on that one and will eventually share it on my other WordPress blog, Sims2Epiphanies..) It’s easy to get discouraged..I look at my blog’s stats and end up wondering if all those hits to my pages/posts were by me and none other..lol..I wouldn’t doubt it! I don’t like it when I see people say that unless they get so many recommendations or comments they will not continue with their story..but in a way, it makes sense to me now! You wanna know that you have readers and that those readers want more..However, I don’t think it’s right to ask for comments and ratings and all that if you don’t put any effort into what you are providing..I believe I am putting forth effort and that I’m really trying to create a solid, decent and engaging story. I’ve done all I know to do to try to get the word out about my story. Now all I can do is sit back and wait and just keep posting..Of course, I’d like to be known in the simming community(in a positive way! 🙂  ) but then, what person with their own blog or story wouldn’t? LOL But I think mostly this is just my hobby..and writing is my passion..and I’m learning as I go. So, to anyone else out there doing their own stories, just starting out, good luck and best wishes, and don’t be too easily discouraged!

~ by Daylilypetals on 10/14/2009.

One Response to “The Risk You Take When Starting A Blog”

  1. I love your honesty here. Keep writing as if its your hobby and you enjoy it – it will show in your writing and people will read it. Good luck x

Leave a Reply

 
