Sims 3-is Can You Run It to be trusted??

I’m hoping someone can give me some feedback about an issue I am having. I quit playing Sims 3 because it kept randomly crashing, and a few people said that I’d need to buy a new video card. That’s fine with me-once I have the money I plan to do just that. However, every time I run Can You Run It, it tells me my computer and video card passed to play the game. This is what it says:

Boxshot
The Sims 3
System Requirements Lab Analysis

No HeaderCongratulations, your computer passes the minimum specification required to run this product.

NVidia

 

Feedback
CPU
Minimum: (XP) 2.0 GHz P4 processor or equivalent; (Vista) 2.4 GHz P4 processor or equivalent [If built-in graphics chipsets then 2.6 GHz Pentium D CPU, or 1.8 GHz Core 2 Duo, or equivalent.]
You Have: AMD Phenom(tm) 9650 Quad-Core Processor
PASS
CPU Speed
Minimum: (XP) 2.0 GHz P4 processor or equivalent; (Vista) 2.4 GHz P4 processor or equivalent [If built-in graphics chipsets then 2.6 GHz Pentium D CPU, or 1.8 GHz Core 2 Duo, or equivalent.]
You Have: 2.30 GHz
PASS
RAM
Minimum: (XP) 1 GB RAM; (Vista) 1.5 GB RAM [If built-in graphics then add 0.5 GB additional RAM]
You Have: 7.7 GB
PASS
OS
Minimum: Windows XP (Service Pack 2) or Windows Vista (Service Pack 1)
You Have: Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition, 64-bit (Build Service Pack 26002)
PASS
Video Card
Minimum: 128 MB Video Card, with support for Pixel Shader 2.0 (NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900 or above / ATI Radeon 9500 or above / Intel GMA 3-series or above)
You Have: GeForce 9100
PASS
Features: Minimum attributes of your Video Card
Required You Have
Video RAM 128 MB 2.2 GB
3D Yes Yes
Pixel Shader version 2.0 4.0
Free Disk Space
Minimum: 6.1 GB of hard drive space with at least 1 GB of additional space for custom content and saved games.
You Have: 501.4 GB
PASS

So, I’m sure you can guess that I’m rather confused right now. I’d like to go ahead and play even though I’ll have to redo everything once my Windows 7 gets here because I’d prefer to do a clean install to be on the safe side(not looking forward to reinstalling everything all over again, especially since I just finished downloading all my Sims 2 games from the EA DM only about 4 or 5 days ago-it took me a little over a week!!). Anyways, can anyone provide some insight on this little issue for me? Should I not trust Can You Run It and just buy a new video card or should I be alright? I’m just really confused. Thanks to anyone willing to read this and respond!

~ by Daylilypetals on 11/06/2009.

Leave a comment